Missing!

This week has been horrid!  I scarcely know where to begin so I shall begin at the beginning.  About 2pm on Monday, I went out to check the mall and Isabelle pushed past me and bolted out the door and down the street.  I chased after her and ran about half a mile after her.  First, I don’t run, secondly, I shouldn’t be running because of my back.  I collapsed in front of Wendy’s and called my fiancee, hoping he would be answer and I could tell him to go cut off her across the street because that was where she was headed.  I returned home and kept calling and calling.  He wasn’t answering.  I sent him a text.  No answer.  I was crying and shaking from exhaustion.  I knew he was going to be mad at me.   Finally, about an hour later, he called.  Chris was furious at me.  I thought he was going to kill me.  He couldn’t leave work and one of the girls’ he works with volunteered to go out and look for her and she was going to come by and get me.  She and I drove around for about an hour and nothing.  I came by the house, feeling incredibly bad and cursing my back.  I didn’t know what to do.  Chris wasn’t going to be home until late.  All of the possible scenarios of what could possibly happen to Isabelle ran through my mind.

1091311_748484855199740_522540396_o

 

At about six o’clock, I called my Mom and asked her if she could come down (she had to pick up my baby sister from work at 8) and take me around.  She said she would be down shortly.  20 minutes later I get a call from her.  She had been in an accident.  A deer had hit her car and it would be a while before she would be down and we might not be able to go.  I started crying even more.  I started to blame myself.  If I hadn’t  had her come down early, she would not have been on the road at that exact time that deer would have come through.  She said it wasn’t my fault.  After I got off the phone with her, I got some stuff around and took off.  I started walking towards the southern end of town.  I must have covered a couple of miles that night in two hours looking for Isabelle.  I had so much guilt upon my shoulders.  My Dad came and got my Mom and switched out vehicles with her so she could come and get my sister.  After she got her, she came and picked me up about 8:30, and asked if I was nuts for being out this late and in the condition I am in.  She was never found Monday night.  I was hurting pretty badly, I didn’t sleep well because Isabelle was out there, somewhere, cold and lonely, and  worried sick that something bad happened to her and if it did, I would surely burn for it.

Monday evening I had put up a few postings on FB about her being missing and a lady had commented on it that a friend of hers had seen Isabelle and she had been taken to the SPCA.  We found this out about 10pm Monday night.  So Tuesday noontime, for our SPCA opens at noon, I called to confirm this.  And she was in there.  It would take $20 to bail her out.  Apparently, the girl who called the dog catcher said that Isabelle had bite her but had not broken the skin and was involved in an altercation with another stray dog.  We are not sure about this information because Isabelle does not have a mean bone in her body and is very loving to everyone.  But I can see when anyone, dog and human alike, would defend themselves when faced with danger.  So I cannot officially comment on the validity of the story on way or another.  The girl looks like a ‘real winner’ too.

After Chris got of work Tuesday afternoon, we were able to go and bring Isabelle home.  I was afraid Isabelle would be in trouble for biting someone, but she wasn’t.  Boy, was she glad to be home!  She slept the rest of the evening and is still tired!  I am still sore too but slowly I am getting better.  We are sooo happy to have to Isabelle home.  It just didn’t feel right without her and I would be devastated if anything happened to her.

 

So, yeah, this week did not start off well at all.  I am hoping the end of the week will be better.  But they do say it always gets worse before it gets better.

Amen.
Amen.
Leave a Reply

