February & The Full Snow Moon

image

Happy February, everyone!  This is such a short month, but there is quite a few holidays and birthdays(especially in my family).  To make up for the month being short, it gains an extra day every four years.  It also gives rise to a new moon.
The deepest snows fall this month.  Houseplants begin to revive themselves.  In New Hampshire, loggers like to fell trees as the new moon wanes, before the sap rises.
Every year, on 03 February, the full Snow Moon rises.  It is called this because the heaviest snows falls and piles even higher.  Usually this month is a time for cold air temperatures, so the Native American tribes most often call the full moon the Snow Moon or the Full Snow Moon.
It is also called the Hunger Moon or the Full Hunger Moon because in the past hunting was very difficult.  Other Native American tribes have called it the “Shoulder to Shoulder Around the Fire Moon”(Wishram tribe), the “No Snow in the Trails Moons”(Zuni tribe), and “Bone Moon”(Cherokee tribes).  The Bone Moon was in reference to that there was so little to eat that the people had to gnaw on bones or make marrow soup so people could have some nourishment.

Some notable dates in February:

01 February Groundhog Day
01 St. Brigid’s Day(Sweden) I only mention this because I took her name when I was confirmed
06 February 1971 Alan Shepard became the first man to hit a golf ball on the moon
09 February My Dad’s birthday
12 February 1809 Abraham Lincoln’s birthday
Friday the 13th February  Yeah, we got one coming up
14 February Valentine’s Day
16 February My betrothed’s birthday
President’s Day every 3rd Monday of February
22 February not only my birthday but my paternal Grandma’s birthday too  🙂 Plus George Washington who was born in 1732
23 February one of my cousin’s birthdays
29 February (Leap day every four years) I don’t think this is a leap year

Does anyone have any birthday’s or significant events going on in February?  Is anyone a leap year baby?  How do you celebrate your birthday?  I would love to know.

Have a great day!  🙂

image

Posted from WordPress for Google Nexus 10

4 thoughts on “February & The Full Snow Moon

  1. Well, yesterday was Hedgehog Day! Don’t forget that. It’s a really important holiday. *nods* I think they are adorable!
    Well, my mother’s birthday is coming up in late February.
    And Valentines Day–don’t you just love that holiday!?! Hearts and glitter and paper doilies and hugs and card making…
    The only thing I don’t like about the holiday is the candy and naked angel babies. =P
    I’ve been making cards and cards and cards these last few days. I love crafty stuff. ^_^ How do you & yours celebrate Valentines Day?

    (BTW, may I have your address? Or P. O. box if I’m too creepy. =P You have my email already, I think.)

    Like

    1. Yes, I saw that yesterday was Hedgehog day. I agree they are adorable!
      Valentine’s Day has never really been a thing for me. I have been in a relationship with someone during Valentine’s Day till now and my fiancee always works(one of the busiest days of the year at his resturant) so we don’t celebrate it. We celebrate our love everyday of the year instead of just one commericalized day of the year.
      The hearts and the white paper dollies and such are awesome to put together and such. I would love like, a rustic burlap bunting of hearts or something along the romance and love theme for Chris and I. I love looking at the old vintage Valentines from way back in the day. I too, am not particularly found of the whole naked cherubs and such 🙂
      Sure , you can have my address. Please email me at backwaterprimer@yahoo.com and I will give it to you. For obvious reasons of this being a public forum and all, I am not at liberty to give it out here.
      Happy birthday to your Mom later on in the month!
      Thanks for leaving a comment. 🙂 Have a lovely evening and I hope to talk to you soon, Rebekah.

      Like

Leave a Reply

